Important Update for the REAL ID Act

Beginning on January 22, 2018, residents of several US states may not be able to use their driver license to get through airport security.  On that date, the REAL ID Act will go into effect, establishing minimum security standards for sources of identification, including licenses. If your state isn’t compliant with the REAL ID Act, you’ll need an additional form of identification in order to get through airport security.

The map below identifies that all states either have passed or have received an extension through October 10, 2017.

What happens after October 10, 2017?

The States highlighted in ‘yellow’ indicate the region has been granted an extension through October 10, 2017 to allow travelers to provide their current Driver’s License for TSA Security.

The following states have received an extension:

Alaska, Washington, Oregon, California, Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, Minnesota, Missouri, Oklahoma, Louisiana, Michigan, Illinois, Kentucky, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, Pennsylvania, New York, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Maine; and Puerto Rico.

There is currently limited information as to what happens after October 10, 2017, other than all the yellow states are in the process of filing for further extensions.

 If a state is not compliant by January 22, 2018, and has not received an extension, residents of that state will be required to show an additional, compliant form of identification when traveling by air. If your state is non-compliant and hasn’t been issued an extension, you’ll need to use one of DHS’ acceptable forms of identification, such as a passport, US military ID, border crossing card, one of the DHS trusted traveler cards and more.

Teplis Travel will continue to monitor the situation and will provide relevant updates.

“Your safety is our number one priority.”


Department of Homeland Security

The Points Guy

Leave a Comment