Updated July 31, 2020.

The ever-changing nature of travel restrictions for corporate travelers within the United States has prompted us to put together an overview of the individual regulations of each State. Some are quite restrictive and focused on travelers from particular States, while others encompass all travelers. A third type has no restrictions at all, which of course are the easiest for travelers to navigate.

Negative COVID-19 Tests

Many of the quarantine rules can be avoided if a traveler can present a recent negative COVID-19 test result. And in some States, you are exempt if you are simply passing through and not remaining in the State for more than 24 hours.

Following is a list of the rules in all fifty States…

Alabama

There are no statewide restrictions in Alabama.

Alaska

All visitors entering Alaska must complete a traveler declaration form, and either arrive with proof of a negative COVID-19 test, take a test upon arrival, or self-quarantine for 14 days.

Restrictions vary based on testing date in relation to travel dates. If the traveler was tested within 72 hours of their arrival into Alaska, they may enter with proof of negative results. If the test was less recently than 72 hours, they will need to take another test upon arrival. If the test was taken between 72 hours and five days from the arrival, and the traveler has not yet received their results, they will need to self-quarantine until they do.

Arizona

There are no statewide restrictions in Arizona.

Arkansas

There are no statewide restrictions in Arkansas.

California

There are no statewide restrictions in California.

Colorado

There are no statewide restrictions in Colorado.

Connecticut

Those coming into Connecticut after spending more than 24 hours in a state or area with a high rate of confirmed infections must self-quarantine for 14 days. Travelers can avoid quarantine if they have proof of negative results for a coronavirus test taken in the previous 72 hours. Those who have been tested but have not received the results are required to quarantine until negative results are received and submitted to the state. The rules apply to anyone spending more than 24 hours in Connecticut.

The 34 states are Alaska, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin. Visitors or residents returning from Puerto Rico or Washington, D.C., face the same restrictions.

Delaware

There were no statewide restrictions in Delaware.

District of Columbia

Visitors who have been to a high-risk state in the previous two weeks must self-quarantine for 14 days. The order excludes travelers from Maryland and Virginia, as well as those in the state for less than 24 hours.

The states affected by the order are Arkansas, Arizona, Alabama, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington and Wisconsin.

Florida

People from New York, New Jersey and Connecticut must self-quarantine at their own expense for 14 days when they enter Florida. Violators may be fined up to $500 or imprisoned for up to 60 days.

With the number of coronavirus cases and hospitalizations spiking in parts of Florida, the mayor of Miami-Dade County in early July ordered all short-term vacation rentals in the county closed.

Georgia

There are no statewide restrictions in Georgia.

Hawaii

All those arriving in Hawaii must isolate for two weeks, or until the end of their stay, whichever is shorter. Arriving travelers must sign a form confirming they are aware of the quarantine and that violating it is a criminal offense that carries up to a $5,000 fine and up to a year in prison. Any traveler with a temperature of over 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit will not be allowed to fly.

Beginning Sept. 1, travelers can avoid that restriction by showing proof of a negative coronavirus test taken within 72 hours of their trip.

Idaho

Travelers to Boise and other cities in Ada County are encouraged to self-quarantine for 14 days. Other counties in the state are further along in their reopening and don’t have a similar request.

Illinois

There are no statewide restrictions, but those entering or returning to Chicago from Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri (as of July 31), Mississippi, Nebraska (as of July 31), Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota (as of July 31), Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wisconsin (as of July 31), are required to self-quarantine for 14 days from their last contact with those states. Those violating the order face fines of up to $500 per day, up to a maximum of $7,000.

Indiana

There are no statewide restrictions in Indiana.

Iowa

There are no statewide restrictions in Iowa.

Kansas

Those who visited Florida after June 29 must self-quarantine for 14 days after entering or returning to Kansas. The same is true for anyone who visited Arizona between June 17 and July 27.

Kentucky

Travelers who visited states or territories with an infection rate approaching 15 percent or higher are asked to self-quarantine for 14 days. Those states affected are Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Nevada, South Carolina and Texas.

Louisiana

There are no statewide restrictions in Louisiana.

Maine

Only residents of Vermont, New Hampshire, Connecticut, New York and New Jersey who stay in commercial lodging in Maine can enter the state without restriction. Everyone else must either self-quarantine for 14 days, or sign a document stating that they tested negative within the previous 72 hours. Those in quarantine may leave their hotel or campsite only for limited outdoor activities, such as hiking, when no other people are around. Maine residents who travel out of state to a state not on the exempted list must also quarantine when they return or test negative for the virus.

Maryland

There are no statewide restrictions in Maryland.

Massachusetts

Effective Aug. 1, all travelers, including residents of the state who are returning home, are required to fill out and submit an online health form and self-quarantine for 14 days, unless they are arriving from a low-risk state. As of July 21, the States exempt from quarantine included Connecticut, Hawaii, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont.

Travelers who produce a negative virus test result, administered up to 72 hours before their arrival into the state, can avoid the quarantine. Those who have taken a coronavirus test before arrival must quarantine until they receive a negative test result. Travelers who fail to comply with these policies may be fined $500 per day.

Michigan

There are no statewide restrictions in Michigan.

Minnesota

There are no statewide restrictions in Minnesota.

Mississippi

There are no statewide restrictions in Mississippi.

Missouri

There are no statewide restrictions in Missouri.

Montana

There are no statewide restrictions in Montana. At Glacier National Park, only the west entrance is open. The Blackfeet Nation is keeping the park’s eastern entrances, which are on tribal land, closed at least through August.

Nebraska

There are no statewide restrictions in Nebraska.

Nevada

There are no statewide restrictions in Nevada.

New Hampshire

Travelers arriving New Hampshire are asked to self-quarantine for 14 days. Travelers that will be staying at a hotel during their stay must bring signed paperwork stating that they self-isolated at home for 14 days prior to travel. Exemptions are travelers arriving from Maine, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island.

New Jersey

Those coming into New Jersey after spending more than 24 hours in a state or area with a high rate of confirmed infections are advised to self-quarantine for 14 days, unless they plan to be in the state for less than 24 hours. The quarantine applies even to those with a recent negative test. Starting July 27, those travelers are asked to voluntarily supply contact information and details about where they plan on staying. Be aware that New Jersey has a mask mandate that requires everyone to wear masks.

The 34 states affected by the quarantine advisory are Alaska, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin. Those arriving from Puerto Rico and Washington, D.C., must also self-quarantine.

New Mexico

A 14-day quarantine is required for anyone entering New Mexico.  A mask mandate is in place for all public places, and those failing to comply are subject to a $100 fine.

New York

New York requires individuals who have spent more than 24 hours in a state or area with significant community spread of the coronavirus to self-quarantine for 14 days.

The 34 states affected by the quarantine order are Alaska, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin. Visitors or residents returning home from Puerto Rico and Washington, D.C., must also self-quarantine.

Those arriving at airports in New York must fill out a Health Department traveler form or face a possible $2,000 fine and a mandatory quarantine order. Failure to comply may also result in their being ordered to quarantine, regardless of which state they are arriving from. Travelers arriving by air must fill out the form before leaving the airport, while those arriving by car, train or other modes of transportation must fill it out online.

North Carolina

There are no statewide restrictions in North Carolina.

North Dakota

There are no statewide restrictions in North Dakota.

Ohio

Traveling Ohioans and out-of-state tourists who have visited an area of high risk, or who have had possible exposure to the coronavirus, are asked to voluntarily quarantine for 14 days.

As of July 29, Ohio has identified the following states as high risk: Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Idaho, Kansas, Mississippi, and South Carolina.

Oklahoma

There are no statewide restrictions in Oklahoma.

Oregon

There are no statewide restrictions in Oregon.

Pennsylvania

The state asks travelers who have visited an area with a Covid-19 surge to self-quarantine for 14 days. It has identified the affected states as: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wyoming.

Rhode Island

Those coming to Rhode Island from a state that has a positivity rate for tests of greater than 5 percent are required to self-quarantine for two weeks. Alternatively, visitors can provide a negative test for the virus that was taken within the previous 72 hours. A person who receives a negative test during their quarantine can stop isolating, although the state recommends the full two-week quarantine.

The states identified are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming. Visitors from Puerto Rico must also quarantine.

South Carolina

The state recommends that people who have visited an area with widespread or ongoing community transmission of the virus stay home for 14 days from the time they left that region.

South Dakota

There are no statewide restrictions in South Dakota.

Tennessee

There are no statewide restrictions in Tennessee.

Texas

There are no statewide restrictions in Texas.

Utah

There are no statewide restrictions in Utah.

Vermont

Visitors from counties in Northeastern states that have similar active coronavirus rates to Vermont (defined as less than 400 active cases per million residents) and who travel in a private vehicle do not have to quarantine. The same is true for Vermont residents who visit those regions when they return home. These counties are in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia and Washington, D.C.

Most other travelers need to self-quarantine upon arrival in Vermont, but the state gives travelers a few options. People may self-quarantine out of state before traveling to Vermont as long as their trip is in a private vehicle and they make only necessary stops, while wearing a face mask, social distancing and washing their hands frequently. Those opting to self-quarantine before their visit to Vermont can either do it for 14 days, or they can shorten it to seven days if they then get a negative test result.

Those arriving by public transportation or a longer car ride must self-quarantine for 14 days, or for seven days followed by a negative test.

Virginia

There are no statewide restrictions in Virginia.

Washington

There are no statewide restrictions in Washington.

West Virginia

There are no statewide restrictions in West Virginia.

Wisconsin

There is no quarantine request, but the state asks those who have traveled within the United States and are entering Wisconsin to check themselves for symptoms of Covid-19 and to stay home as much as possible for 14 days. Wisconsinites are asked not to travel to summer or rental homes. Local quarantine restrictions may be in place at the county level.

Wyoming

There are no statewide restrictions in Wyoming.

 

Essential Workers Status

Many states also have exemptions for essential workers, including health care workers, members of the military and a large number of professions in other key industries. (The list of eligible professions is quite large.) Twenty States utilize the Federal guidelines on which workers are considered essential. Twenty-two other States have created their own guidelines.

To view an interactive map of the various Essential Worker laws within the US, click here.

To view a PDF of the Federal guidelines click this link, Federal EssentialWorkerGuidelines.

Essential Worker Letter

If your employee meets these requirements and you would like to assert these rights you will need to provide them with an Essential Worker Letter. To download a copy of a sample letter, click this link… EssentialEmployeeSampleLetter.